Skip to main content
COVID-19 information and screening Learn how we’re keeping our campus community safe, healthy and engaged during our gradual return to campus.
Note: The university’s mandatory vaccine directive is now in effect. Learn more about vaccine requirements.
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services


Noreen Taylor named as Chancellor of the University of Ontario Institute of Technology

Noreen TaylorThe Board of Governors of the University of Ontario Institute of Technology has appointed Noreen Taylor, CM, as the university’s third Chancellor. Her formal installation will take place in May, prior to June’s Convocation, over which she will preside.

Ms. Taylor is an artist, teacher and philanthropist, renowned for her leadership in Canada’s health-care, cultural, educational and horse racing communities. She is the founder of the RBC Taylor Prize for literary non-fiction, and current Chair of the Board of Canadian Stage and Chair of the Board of Saint Elizabeth Health Care. She is the wife of the late Charles Taylor and daughter-in-law of the late E.P. Taylor; she is also the President of Windfields Farm Limited. In 2015, she was named by Governor General David Johnston as a Member of the Order of Canada.

She becomes the third Chancellor in the university’s history, preceded by Perrin Beatty (2008 to 2015) and Lyn McLeod (2003 to 2008). The Chancellor serves as the titular head of the university, presiding over Convocation and conferring all degrees, honorary degrees, certificates and diplomas on behalf of the university.

Submit an article

Connected wants you to send your article submissions!