Skip to main content
COVID-19 information and screening Learn how we’re keeping our campus community safe, healthy and engaged during our gradual return to campus.
Note: Faculty, staff, students and visitors must complete the mandatory screening questionnaire before coming to campus.
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services


Meet your Council!

When you graduate from Ontario Tech University, you automatically become a member of the Alumni Association.

The Alumni Association Council (AAC) is comprised of alumni volunteers who represent the Alumni Association. The mission of the AAC is to inspire Ontario Tech University's global alumni community to feel connected and supported through programs and services designed to promote the spirit of lifelong success and alma mater pride. Each year, we welcome new members to the AAC following the process of an annual election

At the 2019 Annual General Meeting, out-going Chair Angelo Pineda introduced the incoming 2019-2020 Council members to attendees, and in January the Council grew by one more when acclaimed member with the addition of Astrid DeSouza. 

2019-2020 AAC Members 

  • Shaikh Farhan Rashid, Class of 2014 | Chair, Council
  • William Lee, Class of 2017 |  Vice-Chair, Council
  • Muhammad Mahad, Class of 2016 | Chair, Engagement Committee
  • Sean Kell, Class of 2013 | Chair, Governance Committee 
  • Astrid DeSouza, Class of 2015 and 2017
  • Reuben Gomes, Class of 2014
  • Ijlal Gondal, Class of 2016
  • Keegan Guidolin, Class of 2013
  • Angelo Pineda, Class of 2010  

Learn more about your current Council members, view Council documents, and learn about the nomination process on our updated Alumni Association Council webpage!  

Submit an article

Connected wants you to send your article submissions!